logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

Warrior of Woden, Paperback / softback Book

Warrior of Woden Paperback / softback

Part of the The Bernicia Chronicles series

Description

AD 642. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the fifth instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles.

Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Oswald has reigned over Northumbria for eight years and Beobrand has led the king to ever greater victories.

Rewarded for his fealty and prowess in battle, Beobrand is now a wealthy warlord, with a sizable warband.

Tales of Beobrand's fearsome black-shielded warriors and the great treasure he has amassed are told throughout the halls of the land.

Many are the kings who bow to Oswald. And yet there are those who look upon his realm with a covetous eye. And there is one ruler who will never kneel before him.

When Penda of Mercia, the great killer of kings, invades Northumbria, Beobrand is once more called upon to stand in an epic battle where the blood of many will be shed in defence of the kingdom.

But in this climactic clash between the pagan Penda and the Christian Oswald there is much more at stake than sovereignty.

This is a battle for the very souls of the people of Albion.

What readers are saying about the series: 'Historical fiction doesn't get much better than this' ANGUS DONALD, author of The Outlaw Chronicles. 'Matthew Harffy's tale of England in the Dark Ages is nothing less than superb' HISTORICAL NOVEL SOCIETY. 'Murder, betrayal and vengeance fuel tribal warfare and personal combat.

Beobrand is the warrior to follow' DAVID GILMAN.

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Head of Zeus
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical fiction
  • ISBN: 9781786696304

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.75

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Matthew Harffy   |  View all

Also in the The Bernicia Chronicles series   |  View all