Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Lonely Voyage : A thrilling coming of age tale in a time of war, EPUB eBook

The Lonely Voyage : A thrilling coming of age tale in a time of war EPUB

Part of the The By Air, By Land, By Sea Collection series

EPUB

Please note: eBooks can only be purchased with a UK issued credit card and all our eBooks (ePub and PDF) are DRM protected.

Description

The gripping tale of one boy's journey into manhood... and towards war.

Jess Ferigo, a young man with few prospects other than growing old in the same town he has always known, dreams of a life at sea, much to the ire of his family.

Making the tough decision to leave his old life behind, he takes up a position in charge of poaching on a battered trawler, accompanied by Pat Fee and Old Boxer, a wreck of an educated man who redeems Jess.

As he leaves his boyhood behind, bitter years are followed by the Second World War where Old Boxer and Jess make a poignant rescue on the sand dunes of Dunkirk. After years of searching, finally Jess Ferigo's lonely voyage is over.

The Lonely Voyage is John Harris' first novel – a graphic, moving tale of the sea from an author who understands a sailor’s life in wartime like few others, perfect for fans of Alexander Fullerton, David McDine and Alistair MacLean.

Information

Information

Also by Max Hennessy  |  View all