Supporting your high street Find out how »
The Runaways, EPUB eBook

The Runaways EPUB

EPUB

Please note: eBooks can only be purchased with a UK issued credit card and all our eBooks (ePub and PDF) are DRM protected.

Description

*2015 RED HOUSE CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARD SHORTLISTED AUTHOR*

A brand new animal adventure for 8+ readers set during World War One from classic-in-the-making and bestselling author, Megan Rix. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and Sarah Lean.

Two friends, fighting their way home . . .

SHANTI and her calf TARA are beautiful circus elephants.
HARVEY is the faithful old collie who leads the show.
In war they will perform their most death-defying trick yet.


When the First World War seizes Europe, Cullen's Circus is forced to close. The men are sent to fight and the animals are torn apart from their keepers, and each other. But while Shanti must help on a farm, it's little Tara who faces a far worse fate. . .

Separated too soon from her mother, Tara's life is in danger. Only old, brave Harvey can bring them back together. And so side-by-side, dog and elephant set out on an extraordinary journey across the English countryside - but can the unlikely friends find Shanti in time?

Praise for Megan Rix:

'If you love Michael Morpurgo, you will enjoy this' SundayExpress

'A moving tale told with warmth, kindliness and lashings of good sense that lovers of Dick King-Smith will especially appreciate' The Times

'Every now and then a writer comes along with a unique way of storytelling. Meet Megan Rix . . . her novels are deeply moving and will strike a chord with animal lovers.' LoveReading

'A perfect story for animal lovers and lovers of adventure stories' Travelling Book Company

Also available by Megan Rix:
The Great Escape, The Victory Dogs, The Bomber Dog, A Soldier's Friend and The Hero Pup

Information

Other Formats

Also by Megan Rix   |  View all