The Songs of "Flanders & Swann" : (Piano/ Vocal), Paperback Book

The Songs of "Flanders & Swann" : (Piano/ Vocal) Paperback


The British duo, Flanders and Swann, were the actor and singer Michael Flanders (1922-1975) and the composer, pianist and linguist Donald Swann (1923-1994) who collaborated in writing and performing comic songs.

A chance meeting in 1948 led to a musical partnership writing songs and light opera that have been sung by performers such as Ian Wallace and Joyce Grenfell.

In December 1956, Flanders and Swann performed their own two-man revue "At The Drop Of A Hat", which opened on New Year's Eve.

Over the course of 11 years, Flanders and Swann gave nearly 2,000 live performances.

Although their performing partnership ended in 1967, they remained friends afterwards and collaborated on occasional projects.

This songbook brings together 41 classic songs and represents a definitive collection.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 224 pages, black & white illustrations
  • Publisher: Faber Music Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Music: styles & genres
  • ISBN: 9780571529209



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops