Lament for a Maker, Paperback Book

Lament for a Maker Paperback

Part of the Inspector Appleby series

4 out of 5 (4 ratings)


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 282 pages
  • Publisher: House of Stratus
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9781842327418



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 4 of 4 reviews.

Review by

I have never read Michael Innes before, so I was not prepared for this book at all. It is wonderfully complex, and the characterizations are truly masterful. The setting of the book is also noteworthy since it takes place at a remote Scottish castle right at Christmastime. The book does not spare the reader. It will take you on an emotional roller-coaster ride that never ends until the very last page. Innes' portrayal of a a mad Scottish lord is chilling. And Innes' detective John Appleby has to be one of the the most unique in the whole industry. I cannot say enough good things about this book, and about Michael Innes. Whatever you do try to find it and read it, read it, read it. I got my copy from the library. Luckily one library in our wonderful system saw the merits of keeping this very old book.

Review by

This book has nearly every convention dear to the Golden Age mystery--a creepy setting (complete with rats), characters with murky origins, mistaken identities, and a romance. Innes really doesn't tip his hand very often and you won't guess who the murderer is until the very end. I found the book both interesting and tedious and the solution a little improbable.

Review by

A dense read, this occasionally heavy-handed effort offers changing narrators as a mechanic, a nice touch. The mystery held up well until 3/4 of the way through the book when the plot began to veer off like a startled horse. Over the top.

Review by

As with all the Appleby books, extremely literary and quite convoluted. Quite a few twists and turns I did not see coming. I do enjoy the series, even if it shows up my poor literary education.

Also in the Inspector Appleby series   |  View all