Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


Walter Dean Myers, Hardback Book


Walter Dean Myers, acclaimed author of African American books for children and young adults, published his first book, Where Does the Day Go? in 1969. He is most widely known for his coming-of-age novels including the Newbery Honor books Scorpions (1989) and Somewhere in the Darkness (1993).

A prolific author of both fiction and nonfiction, novels and historical works examined here include Fallen Angels, The Glory Field, Monster and Shooters. Myers has written over 70 books, the most recent also illustrated by his son Christopher.

He volunteers at local schools to encourage students in their reading and writing.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 216 pages
  • Publisher: ABC-CLIO
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: English literature
  • ISBN: 9780313336287


Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also in the Teen Reads: Student Companions to Young Adult Literature series   |  View all