Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


The Fifth Season : The Broken Earth, Book 1, WINNER OF THE HUGO AWARD, Paperback / softback Book

The Fifth Season : The Broken Earth, Book 1, WINNER OF THE HUGO AWARD Paperback / softback

Part of the Broken Earth Trilogy series


Winner of the 2016 Hugo Award for Best NovelBook 1 in the record-breaking triple Hugo-Award-winning trilogy***A New York Times Notable Book******Shortlisted for the World Fantasy, Nebula, Kitschies, Audie and Locus Awards******The inaugural Wired.com book club pick***THIS IS THE WAY THE WORLD ENDS . . . FOR THE LAST TIME. IT STARTS WITH THE GREAT RED RIFT across the heart of the world's sole continent, spewing ash that blots out the sun. IT STARTS WITH DEATH, with a murdered son and a missing daughter. IT STARTS WITH BETRAYAL, and long dormant wounds rising up to fester. This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy. 'Astounding' NPR'Amazing' Ann Leckie'Breaks uncharted ground' Library Journal'Powerful' io9'Elegiac, complex, and intriguing' Publishers Weekly'Intricate and extraordinary' New York Times'Brilliant' Washington PostThe Broken Earth trilogy is complete - beginning with The Fifth Season, continuing in The Obelisk Gate (Winner of the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel) and concluding with The Stone Sky (Winner of the 2018 Hugo Award for Best Novel and 2018 Nebula Award).


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also in the Broken Earth Trilogy series   |  View all