Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


The Fourth Pig, Paperback / softback Book

The Fourth Pig Paperback / softback

Part of the Oddly Modern Fairy Tales series


An enchanting collection that introduces the author and activist Naomi Mitchison to a new generation of readersThe Fourth Pig, originally published in 1936, is a wide-ranging collection of fairy tales, poems, and ballads that reflect the hopes and forebodings of their era but also resonate with those of today.

From a retelling of "Hansel and Gretel" to the experimental title story, a dark departure from "The Three Little Pigs," this book is a testament to the talents of Naomi Mitchison (1897-1999), who was an irrepressible phenomenon-a prominent Scottish political activist as well as a prolific author.

Mitchison's work, exemplified by the tales in this superb new edition, is stamped with her characteristic sharp wit, magical invention, and vivid political and social consciousness.

Marina Warner, the celebrated scholar of myths and fairy tales and writer of fiction, provides an insightful introduction to Mitchison as a remarkable writer and personality.


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Naomi Mitchison   |  View all

Also in the Oddly Modern Fairy Tales series   |  View all