logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

Anti-Social : The secret diary of an anti-social behaviour officer, Hardback Book

Anti-Social : The secret diary of an anti-social behaviour officer Hardback

Description

AS SEEN ON BBC BREAKFAST AND ITV'S LORRAINE__________________________________'Superb.

This hysterically funny and moving memoir of an anti-social behaviour officer is a real eye-opener that hits all the right notes' FRANKIE BOYLE'Laugh-out-loud funny.

The delivery is punchy and the humour dark - think Irvine Welsh minus the Scottish vernacular' EXPRESS__________________________________Has your life become unbearable because the person living above you has a fondness for crack cocaine, the company of strangers and dance music? Or maybe you're a social worker, mental health nurse, police officer, firefighter, dog warden or vicar and you've been landed with someone who's a pain in the arse.

Who are you going to call? That would be me: an anti-social behaviour officer. Anti-Social is the diary of a council worker whose job is to keep his community happy, or at least away from each other's throats.

That's hard enough at the best of times but when government cuts mean that hospitals, social services and police are all at breaking point, the possibility of complete chaos is never far away.

This is an urgent, timely but, most of all, hysterically funny true story of a life spent working with the people society wants to forget and the problems that nobody else can resolve.

This book will make you laugh, cry and boil with rage within a single sentence. __________________________________Perfect for fans of The Secret Barrister and Adam Kay's This is Going to Hurt. __________________________________'I absolutely loved it.

It reads like a novel, has that page-turning quality everyone looks for in a good book but it delivers the punch that only true life can - funny obviously but with humanity and warmth for people at the edges of society most in need of our understanding and compassion' KIT DE WAAL, author of My Name Is Leon'Brilliant.

This deserves to be a huge success - funny, sad and heartbreaking' LORRAINE KELLY'Get this book. ... I'm telling you now, you will absolutely love this guy, what he has to say and the book that he has written.

In equal parts devastating and dark and incredibly funny.' NIHAL ARTHANAYAKE'Darkly comic ... think Adam Kay's This is Going to Hurt but with more dead bodies (and not just human ones) and an abundance of cat shit.

It's a gloriously cynical read but it's also sympathetic and deeply empathetic.' KATHY BURKE'Riveting and brilliantly written... a potent cocktail of heartbreak and horror; wickedly funny, wearily endearing and absolutely enraging' CAROLINE SANDERSON, Bookseller'Extraordinary, fascinating, very moving and very funny' CHRISTINE LAMPARD'A funny, thoughtful look into one of the toughest jobs I can imagine' SHAPPI KORSANDI

Information

  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Cornerstone
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Memoirs
  • ISBN: 9781529124774

Other Formats

£16.99

£12.65

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Nick Pettigrew