Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Poisoned Pie Mystery, Paperback / softback Book

The Poisoned Pie Mystery Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

From the author of The Last Chance Hotel comes a brand new magical mystery ... 'Blending magical adventure with Golden Age crime mystery, this delightfully atmospheric spin-off from the author of The Last Chance Hotel confirms Thornton's place as one of the most original children's writers around.' WATERSTONES on book 1 Is Oakmoss Hornbeam the unluckiest boy in the world? Or has someone cursed him? When a black cat crosses his path, mysteriously blown in by a storm, Oakmoss believes it's his worst omen yet.

But Nightshade, a cat of considerable talents, knows when it's game on or game over. With the help of newshound Veena Vale and magical crime investigator Dexter Stormforce, she sets out to become a lucky charm for one very unlucky boy ... A magical murder mystery story perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Harry Potter By the author of The Last Chance Hotel, chosen as Waterstones Book of the Month and nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Award Follows on from The Howling Hag Mystery, a series starring fan-favourite Nightshade the cat as the star of her very own mystery! Praise for THE LAST CHANCE HOTEL: 'A jolly, atmospheric mystery.' THE TIMES 'All kinds of fun' THE OBSERVER '[A] mash-up of murder mystery and fantasy ... full of great characters, plot twists and intriguing detail.' METRO 'Featuring magical antics, a talking cat and a locked-room murder mystery, Seth's story reads like an old-school whodunnit with added wizards and spells' BOOKTRUST

£6.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops