Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Crossed Out Notebook, Hardback Book

The Crossed Out Notebook Hardback

Hardback

Description

'This stylish debut novel by an Oscar-winning Argentine screenwriter (he co-wrote Birdman) is a suspenseful, darkly funny exploration of the creative process and the porous boundary between reality and fiction.

Highly recommended' The Mail on Sunday, 'The Best New Fiction'From the Academy Award-winning co-writer of Birdman, a wonderfully eccentric, suspenseful debut in the tradition of Misery and Kiss of the Spiderwoman about a screenwriter kidnapped by a world-famous director who orders him to compose a masterpiece. Pablo, a failed Argentine novelist-turned-screenwriter, has been kidnapped by the greatest Latin American film director of all time and is kept in a basement where he works, day after day, on what he is told must at all costs be a great, world-changing screenplay.

Every night, after finishing work on the script, Pablo writes in his notebook and every morning he crosses out what he wrote the night before.

The Crossed-Out Notebook is Pablo's diary of this time: being brought food by a maid; being threatened with a gun; vociferously arguing with the director about what he's written the previous day. The clash between the two men and their different approaches leads to a movie being made, a gun going off, an unlikely escape, and a final confrontation.

In the end, The Crossed-Out Notebook is a darkly funny novel full of intrigue and surprise about the essence of the creative process; a short, crazy ode to any artist whose brilliance shines through strangeness and adversity.

Information

Other Formats

Save 15%

£14.99

£12.65

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information