Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything, Paperback / softback Book

My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

Addie thinks she knows everything about her mother.

But when a stranger appears claiming to be her sister, she realises that her life so far has been a lie.

But why?'Intriguing, twisting... I loved it' Dinah Jefferies. 'A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose' Erin Kelly. 'A well-written, intriguing read full of family secrets...

Brilliant' FabulousA NO. 1 BESTSELLER IN NORWAYA BESTSELLER IN ISRAELPerfect for fans of BEFORE WE WERE YOURS by Lisa Wingate.

Hartland House has always been a faithful keeper of secrets... 1958. Sent to beautiful Hartland to be sheltered from her mother's illness, Liz spends the summer with the wealthy Shaw family.

They treat Liz as one of their own, but their influence could be dangerous... Now. Addie believes she knows everything about her mother Elizabeth and their difficult relationship until her recent death.

When a stranger appears claiming to be Addie's sister, she is stunned.

Is everything she's been told about her early life a lie?How can you find the truth about the past if the one person who could tell you is gone?

Addie must go back to that golden summer her mother never spoke of...and the one night that changed a young girl's life for ever. 'A compelling family story... Beautifully written and evokes vivid pictures of an English summer in the 1950s' Sheila O'Flanagan. 'Trembles with family secrets' Victoria FoxWhat readers are saying about My Mother's Shadow: 'One of the most enthralling, heartbreaking books that I have read in quite some time' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 'The poignant storyline is deeply affecting.

Definitely a book that is going to stay with me for a long time' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'So beautifully written.

In places it made me laugh out loud and in other places it made me cry.

Poignant' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'I was hooked from beginning to end!

Vivid characters and evocative scenes make this an enchanting read' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'Stunning and emotional' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'This novel absolutely blew me away!

I was left emotional and teary. It had me gripped from the start and is loaded with scenes that pull at the heartstrings!

I cannot recommend this novel enough' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'A stunning read and I can't wait to read more from this author' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.39

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops