Carrie's War, Paperback Book

Description

A Puffin Book - stories that last a lifetime.Puffin Modern Classics are relaunched under a new logo: A Puffin Book.

There are 20 titles to collect in the series, listed below, all with exciting new covers and fun-filled endnotes.Carrie's War by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story.'I did a dreadful thing...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...'It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister.Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own.

Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life...Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story Carrie's War has delighted readers for almost 40 years.'Nina Bawden - without question one of the very best writers for children' Daily Telegraph***Perfect for fans of Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian.***Nina Bawden was one of the UK's best writers for both adults and children.

She often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime.

She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree.

She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig.

Nina died in 2012, aged 87.Also available in A Puffin Book: GOODNIGHT MISTER TOM and BACK HOME by Michelle Magorian CHARLOTTE'S WEB, STUART LITTLE and THE TRUMPET OF THE SWAN by E.

B. White THE BORROWERS by Mary NortonSTIG OF THE DUMP by Clive KingROLL OF THUNDER, HEAR MY CRY by Mildred D.

TaylorA DOG SO SMALL by Philippa PearceGOBBOLINO by Ursula Moray WilliamsCARRIE'S WAR by Nina BawdenMRS FRISBY AND THE RATS OF NIMH by Richard C O'BrienA WRINKLE IN TIME by Madeleine L'EngleTHE CAY by Theodore TaylorTARKA THE OTTER by Henry WilliamsonWATERSHIP DOWN by Richard AdamsSMITH by Leon GarfieldTHE NEVERENDING STORY by Michael EndeANNIE by Thomas MeehanTHE FAMILY FROM ONE END STREET by Eve Garnett

Information

Other Formats

£6.99

£5.59

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Nina Bawden   |  View all

Also in the A Puffin Book series   |  View all