The Dead of Night : The Ghost Stories of Oliver Onions, Paperback Book

The Dead of Night : The Ghost Stories of Oliver Onions Paperback

Part of the Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural series


With an Introduction by David Stuart Davies. Oliver Onions is unique in the realms of ghost story writers in that his tales are so far ranging in their background and substance that they are not easily categorised.

His stories are powerfully charged explorations of psychical violence, their effects heightened by detailed character studies graced with a powerful poetic elegance.

In simple terms Oliver Onions goes for the cerebral rather than the jugular.

However, make no mistake, his ghost stories achieve the desired effect.

They draw you in, enmeshing you in their unnerving and disturbing narratives. This collection contains such masterpieces as The Rosewood Door, The Ascending Dream, The Painted Face and The Beckoning Fair One, a story which both Algernon Blackwood and H.

P. Lovecraft regarded as one of the most effective and subtle ghost stories in all literature.

Long out of print, these classic tales are a treasure trove of nightmarish gems.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 672 pages
  • Publisher: Wordsworth Editions Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Classic horror & ghost stories
  • ISBN: 9781840226409

Other Formats


Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Oliver Onions   |  View all