The Collected Works of Oscar Wilde, Paperback Book

The Collected Works of Oscar Wilde Paperback

Part of the Special Editions series

4 out of 5 (1 rating)


Wilde's works are suffused with his aestheticism, brilliant craftsmanship, legendary wit and, ultimately, his tragic muse.

He wrote tender fairy stories for children employing all his grace, artistry and wit, of which the best-known is The Happy Prince.

Counterpoints to this were his novel The Picture of Dorian Gray, which shocked and outraged many readers of his day, and his stories for adults which exhibited his fascination with the relations between serene art and decadent life.

Wilde took London by storm with his plays, particularly his masterpiece The Importance of Being Earnest. His essays - in particular De Profundis- and his Ballad of Reading Gaol, both written after his release from prison, strikingly break the bounds of his usual expressive range.

His other essays and poems are all included in this comprehensive collection of the works of one of the most exciting writers of the late nineteenth century.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 1104 pages
  • Publisher: Wordsworth Editions Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Literary essays
  • ISBN: 9781853263972

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

My mother used to read me Oscar Wilde's fairytales when I was a child. "The Selfish Giant", "The Rose and the Nightingale", "The Happy Prince", and so on. I was greatly moved by the stories and they stayed with me into my adulthood. It was only when I was in my early 20s that I discovered that the writer was Oscar Wilde. I read the stories then for the first time for myself and then began to read other writings of his.As always, I have strong favourites. "The Ballad of Reading Gaol" and "De Profundis" are, along with the fairytales, amongst these.