Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Bessie's War : A heartwarming wartime saga of love and loss for the post office girls, Hardback Book

Bessie's War : A heartwarming wartime saga of love and loss for the post office girls Hardback

Hardback

Description

A moving and nostalgic saga about post office girls in wartime London.

Perfect for readers of Katie Flynn, Kitty Neale and Dilly Court. It is autumn 1940 and, as the bombs rain down on London, a close-knit community struggles to survive. Working at the local post office, Bessie Green does her best to keep her customers' spirits up, but when she receives a telegram addressed to her parents, there's nothing she can do to prevent the heartache that lies ahead. Then Bessie hears that eleven-year-old Daisy Mason has been orphaned in a blast, and she's sure that taking Daisy into their home is just what her parents need to help them overcome their grief. At first, Daisy won't settle, then her handsome brother Josh comes back on leave and things look up for all of them. But the war brings further challenges for Bessie and her friends - with more hearts broken and loved-ones lost - before they can dare to dream of a brighter future... Readers love Pam Evans heartwarming family sagas:'A touching novel' Daily Express'An unforgettable tale of life during the war' Our Time'Nostalgia, heartbreak, danger and war: all the ingredients of an engrossing novel' Bolton News'There's a special kind of warmth that shines through the characters' Lancashire Evening Post'This book touched me very, very much.

It's lovely' North Wales Chronicle

Information

Other Formats

£20.99

£16.69

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops