Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Broken Road : From the Iron Gates to Mount Athos, Hardback Book

The Broken Road : From the Iron Gates to Mount Athos Hardback



'Magnificent . . . The prose has the glorious turbulence and boil of the first two books, and the youthful magic of his 'dream-odyssey' ROBERT MACFARLANE, The Times'Vivid . . . full of fun, kindness, easy learning, sophistication and innocence . . . a gently fitting conclusion to his tumultuous masterpiece' JAN MORRIS, Mail on Sunday'A major work . . . one of the masterpieces of the genre, indeed one of the masterworks of post-war English non-fiction' WILLIAM DALRYMPLE, Guardian'Filled with brilliant evocations of [Patrick Leigh Fermor's] life on the road . . . essential reading' The EconomistA Time of Gifts and Between the Woods and the Water were the first two volumes in a projected trilogy that would describe the walk that Patrick Leigh Fermor undertook at the age of eighteen from the Hook of Holland to Constantinople. 'When are you going to finish Vol. III?' was the cry from his fans; but although he wished he could, the words refused to come.

The curious thing was that he had not only written an early draft of the last part of the walk, but that it predated the other two.

It remains unfinished but The Broken Road - edited and introduced by Colin Thubron and Artemis Cooper - completes an extraordinary journey.


Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also by Patrick Leigh Fermor  |  View all