Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Day My Grandfather Was a Hero, Paperback / softback Book

The Day My Grandfather Was a Hero Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

"This is a beautiful book, a masterpiece of brevity and depth" New European"This tense novella builds to a final reckoning" The TimesIn October 1944, a thirteen-year-old girl arrives in a tiny farming community in Lower Austria, at some distance from the main theatre of war.

She remembers very little about how she got there, it seems she has suffered trauma from bombardment.

One night a few months later, a young, emaciated Russian appears, a deserter from forced labour in the east.

He has nothing with him but a canvas roll, which he guards like a hawk.

Their burgeoning friendship is abruptly interrupted by the arrival of a group of Wehrmacht soldiers in retreat, who commandeer the farm. Paulus Hochgatterer's intensely atmospheric, resonant novel is like a painting in itself, a beautiful observation of small shifts from apathy in a community not directly affected by the war, but exhausted by it nonetheless; individual acts of moral bravery which to some extent have the power to change the course of history. Longlisted for the Austrian Book Prize 2017, this subtle, evocative novella will appeal to readers of Hubert Mingarelli's A MEAL IN WINTER and Jenny Erpenbeck's THE END OF DAYS. Translated from the German by Jamie BullochJamie Bulloch is the translator of novels by Timur Vermes, Steven Uhly, F.

C. Delius, Daniela Krien, Jörg Fauser, Martin Suter, Roland Schimmelpfennig and Oliver Bottini.

For his translation of Birgit Vanderbeke's The Mussel Feast he was the winner of the Schlegel-Tieck Prize. With the support of the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union

Information

Other Formats

Save 5%

£10.00

£9.45

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information