The Blackhouse : Book One of the Lewis Trilogy, Paperback Book

The Blackhouse : Book One of the Lewis Trilogy Paperback

Narrated by Peter Forbes

Part of the The Lewis Trilogy series

3.5 out of 5 (1 rating)


READ THE SUNDAY TIMES AND RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLER, AND THE FIRST INSTALMENT IN PETER MAY'S SENSATIONAL, MILLION-SELLING LEWIS TRILOGY.A brutal killing takes place on the Isle of Lewis, Scotland: a land of harsh beauty and inhabitants of deep-rooted faith.A MURDERDetective Inspector Fin Macleod is sent from Edinburgh to investigate.

For Lewis-born Macleod, the case represents a journey both home and into his past.A SECRETSomething lurks within the close-knit island community.

Something sinister.A TRAPAs Fin investigates, old skeletons begin to surface, and soon he, the hunter, becomes the hunted.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9781849163866

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

An unusual crime story set on the Isle of Lewis, where a brutal killing with possible connections to a similar crime in Edinburgh, brings Inspector Fin Macleod back to the island he grew up on and which holds unpleasant personal memories for him. The story revolves around an ancient Lewis tradition of hunting Guga, young Gannets, on a barren rock 50 miles off the island and the special bond which draws together the men who have participated in this hunt. The story uses flash-backs to Fin Macleod's childhood to paint the picture of his upbringing and understand his personal history, but this slows the pace of the plot somewhat, which I felt dragged a bit.

Also in the The Lewis Trilogy series