Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Heresy of Dr Dee, Paperback / softback Book

The Heresy of Dr Dee Paperback / softback

Part of the The John Dee Papers series

Paperback / softback


THE SECOND INSTALMENT IN THE JOHN DEE PAPERSThe acclaimed second instalment of The John Dee Papers.

Tudor intrigue, murder and the dark arts - brooding superstition leaves John Dee isolated in the land of his father... 'Chills, thrills and satisfies. A fabulous read.' - Huffington PostAt the end of the sunless summer of 1560, black rumour shrouds the death of the one woman who stands between Lord Robert Dudley and marriage to the young Queen Elizabeth.

Did Dudley's wife, Amy, die from an accidental fall in a deserted house, or was it murder?

Even Dr John Dee, astrologer royal, adviser on the Hidden and one of Dudley's oldest friends, is uncertain.

Then a rash promise to the Queen sends him to his family's old home on the Welsh Border in pursuit of the Wigmore Shewstone, a crystal credited with supernatural properties. With John Dee goes Robert Dudley, considered the most hated man in England.

They travel with a London judge sent to try a sinister Welsh brigand with a legacy dating back to the Battle of Brynglas.

After the battle, many of the English bodies were, according to legend, obscenely mutilated.

Now, on the same haunted hill, another dead man has been found, similarly slashed. Devious politics, small-town corruption, twisted religion and a brooding superstition leave John Dee isolated in the land of his father. The previous book in the bestselling The John Dee Papers is The Bones of Avalon.



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also in the The John Dee Papers series