Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Toymakers : This Christmas, be completely swept into the magic of this enchanting and utterly gripping book, Paperback / softback Book

The Toymakers : This Christmas, be completely swept into the magic of this enchanting and utterly gripping book Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

An enchanting, magical novel set in a mysterious toyshop - perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, Stephanie Garber's Caraval and Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist. The Christmas Emporium opens with the first sign of frost . . . It is 1917, and while war wages across Europe, in the heart of London, there is a place of hope and enchantment. The Emporium sells toys that capture the imagination of children and adults alike: patchwork dogs that seem alive, toy boxes that are bigger on the inside, soldiers that can fight battles of their own.

Into this family business comes young Cathy Wray, running away from a shameful past.

The Emporium takes her in, makes her one of its own. But Cathy is about to discover that the Emporium has secrets of its own . . . Complete your collection with Paris by Starlight, the next novel from the author of the The Toymakers, out now*****'This vivid, haunting novel is both vast and intimate.

A wonderful and thought-provoking read.'KATHERINE ARDEN, author of The Warm Hands of GhostsEngaging and enchanting . . . A fairytale for adults, with all the wonder – and terror – that that entails.'GUARDIAN'There is magic at the heart of The Toymakers, a glittery inventiveness that shimmers through the dark corners of a story about love, war and sibling rivalry.'SUNDAY EXPRESS'I was gripped, and thrilled, and touched, and above all I was completely swept into the magic of the book . . . Just astonishing'ADAM ROBERTS, author of Jack Glass'Anyone who’s ever stepped inside a traditional toyshop and marvelled at the wonders on display will instantly be captivated by this book'CULTUREFLY

Information

Other Formats

Save 8%

£8.99

£8.25

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information