The Lion Wakes, Paperback Book


The first novel in The Kingdom Series as Robert Low moves from the Vikings to the making of Scotland.It is 1296 and Scotland is in turmoil.

The old king, Alexander III, has died after falling off his horse one dark and stormy night.

Scotland's future is in peril. Edward I of England, desperate to keep control of his northern borders, arranges for John Baliol, a weak man who Edward knows he can manipulate, to take leadership of Scotland.But unrest is rife and many are determined to throw off the shackles of England.

Among those men is Robert the Bruce, darkly handsome, young, angry and obsessed by his desire to win Scotland's throne.

He will fight for the freedom of the Scots until the end.But there are many rival factions and the English are a strong and fearsome opponent.

The Lion Wakes culminates in the Battle of Falkirk which proves to be the beginning of a rivalry that will last for decades...


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 432 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical fiction
  • ISBN: 9780007337880

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Robert Low   |  View all

Also in the The Kingdom Series series