Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Figured Wheel : New and Collected Poems, Paperback / softback Book

Figured Wheel : New and Collected Poems Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback


This text gathers together all Robert Pinsky's poetry, including 21 new poems.

The verse essay "An Explanation of America" (Carcarnet, 1980) remains at the heart of this work.

The book also includes "Ginza Samba", a history of the saxophone, and "Impossible to Tell", a jazz-like poem that combines elegy with the Japanese custom of linking-poems and the American tradition of ethnic jokes. "Sadness and Happiness" (1975), "History of My Heart" (1984) and "The Want Bone" (1990).

Also included are some of Pinsky's translations of Czeslaw Milosz, Paul Celan and others, and the last canto of his version of Dante's "Inferno" (1994).




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Also by Robert Pinsky  |  View all