The Scarborough & Whitby Railway was opened in July 1885.
The 21 miles of line traversed the picturesque coast between the two towns for eighty years.
There were eight stations on the line all with their own distinctive character and serving the different needs of visitors and local people.
All of the stations along the route are fully illustrated in this book. The line closed in March 1965 and the buildings were later sold into private ownership and have been put to a variety of uses since that time.
The aim of this book is to illustrate the changes both before and after closure along this fascinating and historical railway which has become a very popular walking and cycling trail that passes through the spectacular and varied scenery of the North Yorkshire coast.