Supporting your high street Find out how »
Notes from Walnut Tree Farm, Paperback / softback Book

Notes from Walnut Tree Farm Paperback / softback

Edited by Alison Hastie, Terence Blacker

Paperback / softback

Description

Calming, thought-provoking, poetic and honest, Notes from Walnut Tree Farm is a collection of writing and musing by documentary-maker, environmentalist and author of Waterlog, Roger Deakin. 'Gentle, straight, honest, inquisitive, funny, melancholic' Spectator'A lovely book that is a poignant epitaph to a remarkable individual' Amazon Review________________For the last six years of his life, Roger Deakinkept notebooks.

In them, he wrote his daily thoughts, impressions, feelings and observations about and around his Suffolk home, Walnut Tree Farm.

Collected here are the very best of these writings, capturing his extraordinary, restless curiosity about nature as well as his impressions of our changing world.

Perfect for fans of Robert Macfarlane and Colin Tudge, this is a book that fills readers with a desire to explore the world around them. ________________'A secular saint' The Times'Marvellous, wonderful, lovely, remarkable . . . to be read and reread and treasured' Elizabeth Jane Howard, Daily Mail'Very funny, sharp-eyed.

To look at the world through Deakin's eyes was to see somewhere that was more wonderful than it often appears' Sunday Telegraph'Thoughtful and invigorating, full of humour, timeless . . . will take its place among the classics of Nature diaries . . . to be read alongside Frances Kilvert, Gilbert White, and Dorothy Wordsworth' Mail on Sunday'So busy and bustling with life' Observer

Information

Other Formats

£9.99

£8.09

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Roger Deakin   |  View all