Revenger, Paperback Book
4.5 out of 5 (2 ratings)

Description

For fans of CJ Sansom and SJ Parris, REVENGER is the second in Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times 1592.

England and Spain are at war, yet there is peril at home, too.

The death of her trusted spymaster Sir Francis Walsingham has left Queen Elizabeth vulnerable.

Conspiracies multiply. The quiet life of John Shakespeare is shattered by a summons from Robert Cecil, the cold but deadly young statesman who dominated the last years of the Queen's long reign, insisting Shakespeare re-enter government service.

His mission: to find vital papers, now in the possession of the Earl of Essex. Essex is the brightest star in the firmament, a man of ambition.

He woos the Queen, thirty-three years his senior, as if she were a girl his age.

She is flattered by him - despite her loathing for his mother, the beautiful, dangerous Lettice Knollys who presides over her own glittering court - a dazzling array of the mad, bad, dangerous and disaffected. When John Shakespeare infiltrates this dissolute world he discovers not only that the Queen herself is in danger - but that he and his family is also a target.

With only his loyal footsoldier Boltfoot Cooper at his side, Shakespeare must face implacable forces who believe themselves above the law: men and women who kill without compunction. And in a world of shifting allegiances, just how far he can trust Robert Cecil, his devious new master?

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Thriller / suspense
  • ISBN: 9781848540859

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.85

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Reviews

Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by
5

The novel has it all: good writing, authentic historical environment, interesting theories, very well developed characters and mystery behind all that.

Review by
3.5

A powerful novel featuring John Shakespeare (brother of Will - you may have heard of him...) as a retired 'intelligencer' (spy) called back into service to foil nefarious plots, defeat blackguards a-plenty and save the monarchy, and by extension, the nation. Clements has a good sense of the right historical details to include and linger on and he uses language well. Speech is Elizabethan in tone, but not so much that it overpowers action and character. Shakespeare's rocky relationship with his wife Catherine over her illegal-at-the-time Catholicism rang true and is sensitively handled. A fine romp with black hats and white hats to hiss or cheer as the action moves swiftly to a satisfying conclusion.

Also by Rory Clements   |  View all

£7.99

£6.99

£6.99

£5.59

£7.99

£7.25

£8.99

£7.85

Also in the John Shakespeare series   |  View all

£7.99

£7.25

£8.99

£7.85

£8.99

£7.85