logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

The Empty Cradle : An unforgettable saga of compassion in the face of adversity, Paperback / softback Book

The Empty Cradle : An unforgettable saga of compassion in the face of adversity Paperback / softback

Description

When a young woman faces unimaginable heartache, she vows to make a difference...

A moving saga of anguish, hope and never-ceasing fortitude, The Empty Cradle is a spell-binding and unforgettable tale from bestselling author of No One's Girl, Mothering Sunday and The Little Angel, Rosie Goodwin.

Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Dilly Court. 'Goodwin uses her deft touch, natural warmth and superb storytelling skills in a spellbinding story of love, loss and redemption' - Lancashire Evening PostTo the outside world, Charlotte is the privileged daughter of the local vicar.

Behind closed doors, however, she is the prisoner of her controlling father.

As she grows up, Charlotte longs for freedom, but her captivating innocence leads her into trouble.

Sent to Ireland to hide a shameful pregnancy, she discovers that once again her father has deceived her.

She is forced into a convent's harsh and humiliating regime, where she must eventually give up the one thing that makes her life worthwhile.

When Charlotte returns to England, older than her years, she chooses to forget the past.

Becoming a London midwife, she longs only to help other women at this hardest and most joyful moment in their lives.

But her deep compassion, and desire to prevent anyone else suffering the same horror she did, leads her into a darker and more dangerous place. What Amazon readers are saying about The Empty Cradle:'I have never felt it quite so necessary to write my thoughts about a book.

I cannot wait to read more and more of Rosie Goodwin's books.

From the very first page to the very last it holds you page by page.

My goodness what an amazing lady this author is. I loved every chapter, every page''...this one has to be the best [Rosie Goodwin] by far.

Certainly not a book that you can guess the ending, and kept me captivated all through.

Fantastic story and written superbly'

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.89

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Rosie Goodwin   |  View all