Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Kashmir Shawl, Paperback / softback Book

The Kashmir Shawl Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

For fans of The Tea-Planter's Wife and Victoria Hislop comes a gripping story of doomed love and secrets in 1940s Kashmir. Within one exotic land lie the secrets of a lifetime... In 1938, young bride Nerys Watkins accompanies her missionary husband on a posting to India.

Up in Srinagar, the British live on beautiful wooden houseboats and dance and gossip as if there is no war.

But when the men are sent away to fight Nerys is caught up in a dangerous friendship. Years later, when Mair Ellis clears out her father's house, she finds an antique shawl with a lock of child's hair wrapped up in its folds.

Tracing her grandparents' roots back to Kashmir, Mair uncovers a story of great love and great sacrifice.

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£8.05

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Rosie Thomas  |  View all