Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


Broken Sleep, Paperback / softback Book


Intimate and truthful, the poems in Sally Read's second collection move from the very earliest and most delicate stages of life, to the many adjustments of adulthood.

Always startlingly honest, the pains of closeness and separation, love and mortality are dealt with in unflinching and transforming ways. "Broken Sleep" is a cycle of poems from a mother to her baby, moving from the uncertainty and awe at the discovery of a pregnancy, through the ecstasy of early motherhood.

It charts, with tenderness, the child's development from fetus in the dark, to walking, talking toddler in a bewildering and exciting world.

The poems comprise a hymn and an elegy to the experience of pregnancy and early motherhood.

The second part of the book, "The Glass Eye", moves swiftly into a world where loss, whether of a loved one, a breast, or simply innocence, is countered by extraordinary kinds of redemption.

Whether conjuring angels, music, or lies these pieces offer a sometimes disturbing but always marvelous alternative to the unavoidable blackness behind the glass eye.


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 64 pages
  • Publisher: Bloodaxe Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Poetry by individual poets
  • ISBN: 9781852248451



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Sally Read   |  View all