Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


From 1989, or European Music and the Modernist Unconscious, Hardback Book

From 1989, or European Music and the Modernist Unconscious Hardback


What happened to musical modernism? When did it end? Did it end? In this unorthodox Lacanian account of European New Music, Seth Brodsky focuses on the unlikely year 1989, when New Music hardly takes center stage.

Instead one finds Rostropovich playing Bach at Checkpoint Charlie; or Bernstein changing "Joy" to "Freedom" in Beethoven's Ninth; or David Hasselhoff lip-synching "Looking for Freedom" to thousands on New Year's Eve.

But if such spectacles claim to master their historical moment, New Music unconsciously takes the role of analyst.

In so doing, it restages earlier scenes of modernism.

As world politics witnesses a turning away from the possibility of revolution, musical modernism revolves in place, performing century-old tasks of losing, failing, and beginning again, in preparation for a revolution to come.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 368 pages, 21 music ex, 20 line art, 9 b-
  • Publisher: University of California Press
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Music reviews & criticism
  • ISBN: 9780520279360

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Seth Brodsky