Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


Legacy of Van Diemen's Land : Third in the 'Heart of Stone' Saga, Paperback / softback Book

Legacy of Van Diemen's Land : Third in the 'Heart of Stone' Saga Paperback / softback


Set in the mid-nineteenth century, Legacy of Van Diemen's Land is the latest installment in the 'Heart of Stone' saga.

The story follows the lives of the Stone and Dryer families, focussing on the children of Violet, fathered by Richard Dryer and Matthew Stone - the protagonists from the previous books in the series, Brandy Row and Dawn to Deadly Nightshade.

Legacy of Van Diemen's Land follows the travels of the Machiavellian character, Nathan Meakins, as he is transported to the antipodes to suffer the hardships of the colonial penal system.

Hated and feared in equal measure by his fellow prisoners, it appears as though the evil and devious Nathan has finally got his comeuppance.

But his threat to reap revenge on his adversary, Joshua Dryer, brings fear to all who live at the Manor of Alvington.

In Nathan's determination to return to Somerset and settle the score, innocent people become embroiled in his wicked plans and are left to suffer the tragic consequences...

Inspired by authors such as Thomas Hardy, George Elliott and Charlotte Bronte, Legacy of Van Diemen's Land introduces a colourful group of characters.

A tale of tragedy, heartache, celebration and tradition, told through the beautiful local and social history of both Portland and Yeovil, this book will appeal to fans of Shelagh Mazey's previous books, as well as readers who enjoy historical and romance fiction.


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 380 pages
  • Publisher: Troubador Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Sagas
  • ISBN: 9781784623067



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Shelagh Mazey