Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


The Routledge Anthology of Renaissance Drama, Paperback / softback Book

The Routledge Anthology of Renaissance Drama Paperback / softback

Edited by Simon Barker, Hilary Hinds


This anthology offers a full introduction to Renaissance theatre in its historical and political context, along with newly edited and thoroughly annotated texts of the following plays:* The Spanish Tragedy (Thomas Kyd)* Arden of Faversham (Anon.)* Edward II (Christopher Marlowe)* A Woman Killed with Kindness (Thomas Heywood)* The Tragedy of Mariam (Elizabeth Cary)* The Masque of Blackness (Ben Jonson)* The Knight of the Burning Pestle (Francis Beaumont)* Epicoene, or the Silent Woman (Ben Jonson)* The Roaring Girl (Thomas Middleton & Thomas Dekker)* The Changeling (Thomas Middleton & William Rowley)* 'Tis Pity She's a Whore (John Ford). Each play is prefaced by an introductory headnote discussing the thematic focus of the play and its textual history, and is cross-referenced to other plays of the period that relate thematically and generically. An accompanying website contains a wide selection of contextual documents which supplement the anthology: www.routledge.com/textbooks/0415187346


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 472 pages
  • Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Plays, playscripts
  • ISBN: 9780415187343



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops