Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Vanished Birds, Paperback / softback Book

The Vanished Birds Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

Bold, lyrical and imaginative, this space opera is a must for fans of Becky Chambers and Alastair Reynolds Nia Imani is a woman out of place and outside of time.

Decades of travel through the stars are condensed into mere months for her, though the years continue to march steadily onward for everyone she has ever known.

The captain of a transport ship contracted to the Umbrai corporation, she lives only for the next paycheck, until the day she meets a mysterious boy, fallen from the sky. A boy, broken by his past, and hunted by his present.

For he is one of the few born with the gift of the Jaunt.

The ability to travel instantly anywhere in the universe.

An ability that threatens the vicelike control of the settled worlds by corporations such as Umbrai.

Fumiko Nakajima, the great scientist responsible for the design of bird-like Stations that Umbrai uses to control vast tracts of space, has been searching for one such as he for a thousand years.

Together, they set out to protect the boy, a journey that will cross the decades and light years all the way out to the fringes of settled space where the laws of civilisation do not apply, and they will have only each other to rely on.

Information

  • Format:Paperback / softback
  • Pages:432 pages
  • Publisher:Titan Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category:
  • ISBN:9781789093926

Other Formats

£8.99

£8.55

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

  • Format:Paperback / softback
  • Pages:432 pages
  • Publisher:Titan Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category:
  • ISBN:9781789093926

Also by Simon Jimenez