Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Sophia - Biography of a Violin Concerto, DVD DVD

Sophia - Biography of a Violin Concerto DVD

Directed by Jan Schmidt-Garre



Documentary tracing the creation of Russian composer Sofia Gubaidolina's 2nd violin concerto, from its inception to its first performance, 15 years later.

The film focuses on the creative processes and stresses involved in finally bringing the piece to its first public performance in 2007, with Anne-Sophie Mutter performing alongside Sir Simon Rattle and the Berlin Philharmonic.



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops