Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Theban Plays (Esprios Classics), Paperback / softback Book

The Theban Plays (Esprios Classics) Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback


The Theban plays comprise three plays: Oedipus Rex (also called Oedipus Tyrannus or Oedipus the King), Oedipus at Colonus, and Antigone.

All three concern the fate of Thebes during and after the reign of King Oedipus.

They have often been published under a single cover; but Sophocles wrote them for separate festival competitions, many years apart.

The Theban plays are not a proper trilogy ( three plays presented as a continuous narrative), nor an intentional series; they contain inconsistencies.

Sophocles also wrote other plays pertaining to Thebes, such as the Epigoni, but only fragments have survived.




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops