Kierkegaard's Writings, X, Volume 10 : Three Discourses on Imagined Occasions, Paperback / softback Book

Kierkegaard's Writings, X, Volume 10 : Three Discourses on Imagined Occasions Paperback / softback

Part of the Kierkegaard's Writings series


Three Discourses on Imagined Occasions was the last of seven works signed by Kierkegaard and published simultaneously with an anonymously authored companion piece.

Imagined Occasions both complements and stands in contrast to Kierkegaard's pseudonymously published Stages on Life's Way.

The two volumes not only have a chronological relation but treat some of the same distinct themes.

The first of the three discourses, "On the Occasion of a Confession," centers on stillness, wonder, and one's search for God--in contrast to the speechmaking on erotic love in "In Vino Veritas," part one of Stages.

The second discourse, "On the Occasion of a Wedding," complements the second part of Stages, in which Judge William delivers a panegyric on marriage.

The third discourse, "At a Graveside," sharpens the ethical and religious earnestness implicit in Stages's "'Guilty'/'Not Guilty'" and completes this collection.


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 200 pages
  • Publisher: Princeton University Press
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Literary essays
  • ISBN: 9780691140742

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops