Don DeLillo : Mao II, Underworld, Falling Man, Hardback Book

Don DeLillo : Mao II, Underworld, Falling Man Hardback

Edited by Stacey Olster

Part of the Continuum Studies in Contemporary North America Fiction series


A wide-ranging study of the post-1990 fiction of one of America's most respected writers and cultural critics, this volume focuses on three of Don DeLillo's most recent novelsGCoMao II, Underworld, and Falling ManGCothat span pivotal moments in recent history: the end of the Cold War, the millennium, and 9/11.

Consisting of original essays written by scholars whose interdisciplinary approachesGCodrawn from art history and religious history, ethnic studies and urban studies, popular culture and political scienceGCoshed new light on DeLillo's work, it investigates DeLillo's portrait of turn-of-the-century America as the nation confronts the defining phenomena of globalism and terrorism.

With an eye always on the impact that shifts in historical sensibility produce on aesthetic sensibility, the volume also considers the role that DeLillo sees narrative playing in a world dominated by digital images and provides the first extended analysis of how much faith he has in fiction's ability to convey the trauma of September 11, an event commonly conceived as resistant to all forms of artistic expression.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 208 pages, 1, black & white illustrations
  • Publisher: Continuum Publishing Corporation
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Literary studies: from c 1900 -
  • ISBN: 9780826444639



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also in the Continuum Studies in Contemporary North America Fiction series