Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

This Other Island : A heartbreaking and powerful book club read about race, identity and family, Paperback / softback Book

This Other Island : A heartbreaking and powerful book club read about race, identity and family Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

Things between me and Papa are so different to what me and Mum have. It's been that way since the first day. An invisible bond. Papa was the one who never stopped encouraging me to strive for my goals. 'Take every opportunity dis country give you, ich mwen,' he'd always said...


When Yvette receives a call to say her estranged father Joe has been attacked in a seemingly random act of violence, she rushes to his side. She'd stayed with her mother after her parents separated, but never forgot her father's kind and caring ways. Memories of his wide smile and loving embraces - so different to her mother Doli - have always sustained her.


But when she arrives, ready to make peace and help him in any way she can, she finds a man different to the larger-than-life father she remembers. Joe is fighting for his life, but is also haunted by memories of his past. He begs Yvette to help him find out the truth...


About the journey that brought him and a beautiful young woman called Doli together, as they both travelled - as part of the Windrush Generation, to start new lives in Britain. About the lives they left behind in St Lucia. And about a dark secret - one that he has carried with him since stepping off the ship that wet and chilly August day. That threatened his and Doli's marriage from the very beginning...


Only Yvette can find out what really happened on that crossing. Because, for forty years, Joe has believed that he killed a man. A man who had had feelings for Doli too. And who - as Joe knows - might hold the key to Yvette's own story...


What follows is a heart-stopping debut novel about family, identity, secrets, lies, and the journeys that define us. It will grip you, challenge you, and ultimately break you into a thousand pieces. Perfect for fans of Small Island and Girl, Woman, Other.


Readers are loving This Other Island:


'What a beautiful book! I enjoyed the heck outta this one! The writing was flawless. Characters amazing! I loved the setting! I just absolutely adored this one.' Goodreads reviewer


'Through her impressive use of dialogue, diction, dialect, and a blend of the past and present, Edward gives her readers unforgettable and realistic characters.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


'A fantastic debut novel... authentic and enjoyable' Goodreads reviewer

Information

£7.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Steffanie Edward