logo
Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image

Basket

The Woman in the Photograph : The thought-provoking feminist novel everyone is talking about, Paperback / softback Book

The Woman in the Photograph : The thought-provoking feminist novel everyone is talking about Paperback / softback

Description

An empowering, thought-provoking feminist novel that will change the way you see the world.

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Day, Claire Fuller and Joanna Cannon. 1968. Veronica Moon, a junior photographer for a local newspaper, is frustrated by her (male) colleagues' failure to take her seriously. And then she meets Leonie on the picket line of the Ford factory at Dagenham.

So begins a tumultuous, passionate and intoxicating friendship.

Leonie is ahead of her time and fighting for women's equality with everything she has.

She offers Veronica an exciting, free life at the dawn of a great change. Fifty years later, Leonie is gone, and Veronica leads a reclusive life.

Her groundbreaking career was cut short by one of the most famous photographs of the twentieth century. Now, that controversial picture hangs as the centrepiece of a new feminist exhibition curated by Leonie's niece.

Long-repressed memories of Veronica's extraordinary life begin to stir.

It's time to break her silence, and step back into the light. Praise for The Woman in the Photograph:'Imaginative and moving novel - a must-read for any feminist'Katie Fforde'I absolutely loved The Woman in the Photograph, a compelling,original and thought-provoking look at feminism and the power of female friendships'Sarah Franklin'What a glorious combination: Stephanie's warm intelligence brought to bear on the complexities of second-wave feminism.

I ate the book up'Shelley Harris'Refreshing and thought-provoking . . . a stirring exploration of female friendship and the fight for equality'Carys Bray'Brilliantly researched, thought-provoking, and written straight from the heart, this is undoubtedly Butland's best book yet'Lancashire Evening Post

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Photography & photographs
  • ISBN: 9781785768965

£8.99

£6.69

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops