Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Woman in the Photograph : The thought-provoking feminist novel everyone is talking about, Paperback / softback Book

The Woman in the Photograph : The thought-provoking feminist novel everyone is talking about Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

An empowering, thought-provoking feminist novel that will change the way you see the world.

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Day, Claire Fuller and Joanna Cannon. 1968. Veronica Moon, a junior photographer for a local newspaper, is frustrated by her (male) colleagues' failure to take her seriously. And then she meets Leonie on the picket line of the Ford factory at Dagenham.

So begins a tumultuous, passionate and intoxicating friendship.

Leonie is ahead of her time and fighting for women's equality with everything she has.

She offers Veronica an exciting, free life at the dawn of a great change. Fifty years later, Leonie is gone, and Veronica leads a reclusive life.

Her groundbreaking career was cut short by one of the most famous photographs of the twentieth century. Now, that controversial picture hangs as the centrepiece of a new feminist exhibition curated by Leonie's niece.

Long-repressed memories of Veronica's extraordinary life begin to stir.

It's time to break her silence, and step back into the light. Praise for The Woman in the Photograph:'Imaginative and moving novel - a must-read for any feminist'Katie Fforde'I absolutely loved The Woman in the Photograph, a compelling,original and thought-provoking look at feminism and the power of female friendships'Sarah Franklin'What a glorious combination: Stephanie's warm intelligence brought to bear on the complexities of second-wave feminism.

I ate the book up'Shelley Harris'Refreshing and thought-provoking . . . a stirring exploration of female friendship and the fight for equality'Carys Bray'Brilliantly researched, thought-provoking, and written straight from the heart, this is undoubtedly Butland's best book yet'Lancashire Evening Post

Information

£8.99

£6.95

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Stephanie Butland   |  View all