Xeelee: An Omnibus : Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux, Ring, Paperback Book

Xeelee: An Omnibus : Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux, Ring Paperback

3 out of 5 (1 rating)


Stephen Baxter's epic sequence of Xeelee novels was introduced to a new generation of readers with his highly successful quartet, Destiny's Children, published by Gollancz between 2003 and 2006.

But the sequence of novels began with RAFT in 1991.From there it built into perhaps the most ambitious fictitious universe ever created.

Beginning with the rise and fall of sub-quantum civilisations in the first nano-seconds after the Big Bang and ending with the heat death of the universe billions of years from now the series charts the story of mankinds epic war against the ancient and unknowable alien race the Xeelee.Along the way it examines questions of physics, the nature of reality, the evolution of mankind and its possible future.

It looks not just at the morality of war but at the morality of survival and our place in the universe.This is a landmark in SF.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 912 pages
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Science fiction
  • ISBN: 9780575090415

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

This omnibus is formed of 4 individual tales that combine to make an epic tale that takes us to the end of time and across multiple universes.It is operatic in time span and in decor, thought provoking and for once does not put humans at the centre of the universe. Despite the setting, it comes down to people who fight for their future, those who can't cope with thinking outside of the box and some who will live inside their bubble until it bursts around them. Human frailty doesn't change, despite differing bodies, sizes and universes.

Also by Stephen Baxter   |  View all