Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Empire Girls : A heartbreaking family saga about love and friendship in post-war Britain, Paperback / softback Book

The Empire Girls : A heartbreaking family saga about love and friendship in post-war Britain Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

A heart-breaking wartime saga from the much-loved author of THE TILBURY POPPIES.

Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Donna DouglasHow far would you go to protect your family? . . . Essex, 1950. The Empire is a pub run by Vi, Doris's mother. When Doris falls pregnant out of marriage, she is kicked out of the house and forced to fend for herself. Desperate to look after her daughter, Doris finds refuge in Southend and takes a job in a factory, hoping for a better life.

When she finds herself cast out one night, Doris has nowhere to go but home - back to Tilbury.

But she's still not welcome there and once again has to look for shelter and work. Homeless and as a single mother, life is tough for Doris. And it becomes harder when she helps a neighbour, Claude, to find a new life in Britain.

Now Doris must decide where her heart lies . . . A heart-warming story of love, loss and friendship, set against the backdrop of post-war EnglandREAL READERS love Sue Wilsher's novels:'I absolutely loved this book - it was so gripping that I read it from cover to cover in one sitting''This story was fabulous.

It won't be my last Sue Wilsher book''Brilliant author - you won't be disappointed''Couldn't put the book down.

I cannot wait for her next novel'

Information

Other Formats

£7.99

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information

Also by Sue Wilsher  |  View all