Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


Joan Jonas : I Want to Live in the Country (And Other Romances), Paperback / softback Book

Joan Jonas : I Want to Live in the Country (And Other Romances) Paperback / softback

Part of the Afterall Books / One Work series


An illustrated study of performance and video artist Joan Jonas's 1974 video, an elliptical narrative that moves between the countryside of Nova Scotia and the artists's New York City studio. Joan Jonas approaches video as a drawing tool, a mirror, and a framing device.

Since 1968, she has used video and performance to explore ways of seeing, the rhythms of ritual, and the archetypal authority of objects and gestures.

With her influential 1976 work, I Want to Live in the Country (And Other Romances) Jonas nimbly structures an elliptical narrative that unmistakably establishes her voice and visual lexicon.

I Want to Live in the Country features two locations-the untamed landscape of Nova Scotia and an artist's studio in New York City-as it examines themes of loss, displacement, time, and memory through still life compositions and Super-8 footage.

Jonas creates a meditation of frames within frames, monitors within monitors, overlaid with poetic musings-a murmured story of the unconscious. Jonas's influences have included the writing of Samuel Beckett, the films of Yasujiro Ozu, Japanese Noh theater, and the work of John Cage.

Stripped down to intimate, indelible gestures, I Want to Live in the Country (And Other Romances) explores a Beckettian dilemma: "I am both the observer and the object that I observe.

Which of the two is the real 'I'?" In this richly illustrated Afterall book, Susan Morgan examines the emergence of Jonas's original work from this synthesis of influences and ideas.


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 112 pages, 34 color illus., 8 b&w illus.; 42 Illustrations, unspecified
  • Publisher: Afterall Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Performance art
  • ISBN: 9781846380259

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Susan Morgan   |  View all

Also in the Afterall Books / One Work series   |  View all