Collected Poems, Paperback Book
4 out of 5 (1 rating)


This comprehensive volume contains all Sylvia Plath's mature poetry written from 1956 up to her death in 1963.

The poems are drawn from the only collection Plath published while alive, The Colossus, as well as from posthumous collections Ariel, Crossing the Water and Winter Trees.The text is preceded by an introduction by Ted Hughes and followed by notes and comments on individual poems.

There is also an appendix containing fifty poems from Sylvia Plath's juvenilia.This collection was awarded the 1981 Pulitzer Prize for poetry.'For me, the most important literary event of 1981 has been the publication, eighteen years after her death, of Sylvia Plath's Collected Poems, confirming her as one of the most powerful and lavishly gifted poets of our time.' A.

Alvarez in the Observer


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Poetry by individual poets
  • ISBN: 9780571118380



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

One of my favourite poems is one I had to study for my final A Level exam: "Mirror". Her use of imagery is amazing.

Also by Sylvia Plath   |  View all