Wu Qin Xi : Five-Animal Qigong Exercises, Mixed media product Book

Wu Qin Xi : Five-Animal Qigong Exercises Mixed media product

Part of the Chinese Health Qigong series


Qigong is an aspect of traditional Chinese medicine that involves coordinating breathing patterns with physical postures to maintain health and well-being.

Wu Qin Xi: Five-Animal Qigong Exercises is an accessible, fully-illustrated guide to a particular qigong exercise that imitates the movements of animals and birds.The book explores the development of the five-animal exercises from the work of Hua Tua, a leading physician of the Eastern Han Dynasty whose inspiration came from the observation of tigers, deer, bears, monkeys and birds.

He came to the conclusion that wild creatures regularly performed certain exercises which can be replicated in order to build up the constitution and improve life skills.

Each routine is described step-by-step, and is illustrated with photographs and key points.

The authors also point out common mistakes and offer advice on how to correct these.Complemented by an appendix of acupuncture points and accompanied by a DVD, this book will be of interest to Qigong and Tai Chi practitioners at all levels, students of martial arts and anyone interested in Chinese culture.


  • Format: Mixed media product
  • Pages: 112 pages
  • Publisher: Jessica Kingsley Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Exercise & workout books
  • ISBN: 9781848190078


Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by The Chinese Health Qigong Association   |  View all

Also in the Chinese Health Qigong series   |  View all