Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The Gershwins': Porgy and Bess, CD / Box Set Cd

The Gershwins': Porgy and Bess CD / Box Set

CD / Box Set


To open the 2019-20 season, 'The Gershwins' Porgy and Bess' returned to the Met stage for the first time in nearly 30 years. The acclaimed new production of America's favorite opera is captured in this three-CD set headlined by Eric Owens and Angel Blue in the title roles. David Robertson conducts a superb cast, which also features Latonia Moore, Golda Schultz, Alfred Walker, Frederick Ballentine, and Denyce Graves. Breaking company box-office records, 'The Gershwin's Porgy and Bess' was even extended for an unprecedented three additional performances in February 2020.

Track Listing

Disc 1
  1. Introduction
  2. Summertime
  3. Oh, Nobody Knows When De Lawd Is Goin' to Call
  4. Seem Like Dese Bones
  5. Summertime (Reprise)
  6. Give Him to Me
  7. Here Come De Honey Man
  8. Here Comes Big Boy!
  9. Oh Little Stars, Little Stars
  10. Jesus, He's Killed Him!
  11. Where Is Brother Robbins?
  12. Come On Sister, Come On Brother
  13. A Saucer Burying Setup, I See
  14. My Man's Gone Now
  15. How De Saucer Stan' Now, My Sister?
  16. Oh, the Train Is at the Station
Disc 2
  1. Oh, I'm A-goin' Out to De Blackfish Banks
  2. Mus' Be You Mens Forgot About De Picnic
  3. Oh, I Got Plenty O'nuttin
  4. Listen There What I Tells You?
  5. Mornin', Lawyer
  6. 'Lo, Bess, Goin' to Picnic?
  7. Bess, You Is My Woman Now
  8. Oh, I Can't Sit Down!
  9. What's De Matter Wid You, Sister?
  10. I Ain' Got No Shame
  11. It Ain't Necessarily So
  12. Shame On All You Sinners
  13. Oh, What You Want Wid Bess?
  14. Lemme Go, Hear Dat Boat
  15. Honey, Dat's All De Breakfast I Got Time For
  16. Take Yo' Hands Off Me, I Say
  17. Oh, Doctor Jesus
  18. Oh Dey's So Fresh An' Fine
  19. Now De Time, Oh Gawd
  20. I Wants to Stay Here - I Loves You Porgy
  21. Why You Been Out On Dat Wharf So Long, Clara?
  22. Oh, Doctor Jesus
  23. Oh, De Lawd Shake De Heavens
  24. One of Dese Mornings
  25. Oh, Dere's Somebody Knockin' at De Door
  26. You Is a Nice Parcel of Christians
  27. If Gawd Want to Kill Me
  28. A Red-headed Woman
  29. Jake's Boat, in De River
Disc 3
  1. Clara, Clara, Don't You Be Down Hearted
  2. You Low-lived Skunk
  3. Summertime (Reprise)
  4. Wait for Us Over There, Al
  5. Oh Gawd! They Goin' Make Him Look On Crown's Face!
  6. There's a Boat Dat's Leavin' Soon for New York
  7. Good Mornin' Good Mornin' Brudder!
  8. It's Porgy Comin' Home!
  9. Oh, Bess, Oh Where's My Bess
  10. Bess Is Gone
  11. Oh Lawd, I'm On My Way



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops