Supporting your high street Find out how »
Basket Image


The Symphonic Repertoire, Volume I : The Eighteenth-Century Symphony, Hardback Book

The Symphonic Repertoire, Volume I : The Eighteenth-Century Symphony Hardback


Central to the repertoire of Western art music since the 18th century, the symphony has come to be regarded as one of the ultimate compositional challenges.

In his five-volume series The Symphonic Repertoire, the late A.

Peter Brown explores the symphony from its 18th-century beginnings to the end of the 20th century.

In Volume 1, The Eighteenth-Century Symphony, 22 of Brown's former students and colleagues collaborate to complete the work that he began on this critical period of development in symphonic history.

The work follows Brown's outline, is organized by country, and focuses on major composers.

It includes a four-chapter overview and concludes with a reframing of the symphonic narrative.

Contributors address issues of historiography, the status of research, and questions of attribution and stylistic traits, and provide background material on the musical context of composition and early performances.

The volume features a CD of recordings from the Bloomington Early Music Festival Orchestra, highlighting the largely unavailable repertoire discussed in the book.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 920 pages
  • Publisher: Indiana University Press
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Baroque music (c 1600 to c 1750)
  • ISBN: 9780253356406



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops