Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

Blight, Paperback / softback Book

Blight Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

Description

A brilliantly atmospheric horror novel about people disappearing in a small, claustrophobic village and whispers of a terrifying local legend called the tall man.

Perfect for fans of The Loney and Devil's Day. 1897. James Harringley is summoned home from London to his rambling family mansion in the north of England.

His father is sick, deranged, and James must return, confronting the horrors he tried to forget: the labyrinthine house, the madness and secrets which poison their bloodline and, most frightening of all, the spectre of the tall man - an eerie visage who promises to whisk children away and make them royalty in the land of Faery. James returns to the house and finds his father and brother at war, and the nebulous substance of his childhood brought into unbearable relief.

He remembers the whispers about the tall man. But can he trust his own memories? Then the groundskeeper Janey has had her baby kidnapped, one of many child disappearances connected with the house and the nearby village.

There are those who blame the tall man, while others believe a more earthly culprit is responsible.

James must sift through the ramblings of his father, the scepticism of his power-hungry brother and the uncertain fabric of his own memories to discover the truth.

Information

Other Formats

Save 6%

£9.99

£9.39

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Information