Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

The House of Owls, EPUB eBook

The House of Owls EPUB

EPUB

Please note: eBooks can only be purchased with a UK issued credit card and all our eBooks (ePub and PDF) are DRM protected.

Description

';A charming personal account, accompanied by nearly 100 illustrations, that underscores how owls and other birds enrich our lives.'Kirkus Reviews

Winner of the National Outdoor Book Award

For a quarter of a century, Tony Angell and his family shared the remarkable experience of closely observing pairs of western screech owls that occupied a nesting box outside the window of their forest home. The journals in which the author recorded his observations, and the captivating drawings he created, form the heart of this compelling booka personal account of an artist-naturalist's life with owls. Angell's extensive illustrations show owls engaged in what owls dohunting, courting, raising families, and exercising their inquisitive naturesand reveal his immeasurable respect for their secret lives and daunting challenges.

Angell discusses the unique characteristics that distinguish owls from other bird species and provides a fascinating overview of the impact owls have had on human culture and thought. He also offers detailed scientific descriptions of the nineteen species of owls found in North America, as well as their close relatives elsewhere. Always emphasizing the interaction of humans and owls, the author affirms the power of these birds to both beguile and inspire.

';Endearingprovides a lot of fascinating information about these reclusive creatures.'The New York Times Book Review

';Angell writes (and draws) with the absolute authority of one who has studied, rehabilitated, lived with and loved the animals his whole life.'The Wall Street Journal

';Steeped in the tradition of Alexander Wilson and John James Audubon, it blends taxonomy, ornithology, biogeography and autobiography.'Times Literary Supplement

Information

Other Formats

Also by Tony Angell