A Place to Call Home, Hardback Book

Description

Val Wood's wonderful historical sagas are perfect for readers of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin. Ellen thought she'd always live in the remote, pretty coastal village where she grew up.

After all, her husband, Harry, works on a farm where he's guaranteed a job and home for life.

But when the old landowner dies and the couple and their young children are forced from their cottage, the future is suddenly bleak.

Rather than stay - and starve - in the countryside they love, Harry sets out to find a job in the factories and mills of nearby Hull, and Ellen must leave behind everything she's ever known to follow her husband and build a new life for her family on the unfamiliar city streets. The road ahead is full of hardships and challenges.

But with love and determination, they make the best of things, forging friendships with other newcomers and refugees; even helping them to succeed in their new surroundings. Then tragedy threatens Ellen's fragile happiness. How much more can she sacrifice before they find a place to call home?

Information

  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical romance
  • ISBN: 9780593078495

Other Formats

£18.99

£14.59

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops