Please note: In order to keep Hive up to date and provide users with the best features, we are no longer able to fully support Internet Explorer. The site is still available to you, however some sections of the site may appear broken. We would encourage you to move to a more modern browser like Firefox, Edge or Chrome in order to experience the site fully.

A New Start for the Wrens : A compelling and heartwarming WW2 saga, Paperback / softback Book

A New Start for the Wrens : A compelling and heartwarming WW2 saga Paperback / softback

Part of the The Wrens series

Paperback / softback

Description

Are these newly trained Wrens ready to protect Britain's coastline?Following a humiliating experience involving the man she thought she'd marry, Iris Tredwick signs up to the Wrens in order to escape and find 'the right sort' of man to please her mother.

After a bumpy start, Iris manages to befriend outspoken Mary and dreamer Sally as they are sent to their first posting - in Orkney.

There she meets mechanic Rob, whose flirtatious nature both charms and confounds straight-laced Iris.

Much more appropriate for her is local doctor Stewart, if only she felt the same spark for him as she does for Rob... As Iris, Mary and Sally work to interpret signals from incoming ships, they realise the enemy is somehow one step ahead of their manoeuvres, dropping sea mines under the cover of darkness.

Could there be a spy on the island? And can the Wrens prevent disaster striking before it's too late?A thrilling and lively Second World War saga for fans of Kate Thompson and Daisy Styles. Praise for A New Start for the Wrens'This book is absolutely brilliant.

I felt like I was one of the girls and was joining them in their adventure.

I really cant wait to read more in this series' Reader review'This book entertained and warmed the cockles of your heart.

Being on duty with the Wrens and contributing to the war effort was a great way to spend the afternoon reading and I seriously loved it!' Reader review'Loved this book!

I binge read it as I wanted to know what would happen.

The three main female characters Iris, Mary and Sally are all so easy to relate to and care about.

Love the glimpses of Orkney and the poignant history.' Reader review'A really thoughtful look at the work of the wrens in WWII and a brilliant new trio of girls to get to know.

I cannot wait for the next one.' Reader review 'Another number one for Vicki Beeby.

Loved this WWII story, highly recommended read' Reader review

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.19

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also in the The Wrens series